.

Dollmakers II: An Exhibit of Handcrafted Art Dolls

 ,   Add to calendar
 Eagle Rock  See map

Join us THIS Saturday, April 14th at Cactus Gallery.

Cactus Gallery is pleased to extend its "Dollmakers" exhibit through May 5th. We are very happy with all the doll adoptions and would like to find more homes for the other art dolls.

We will be featuring a few new doll artists, new dolls, and a special screening of the tale of "Callalilly" by Miss Christy Kane at 8pm and 9pm. A few of Kane's books and photographs are still available.

The reception, which coincides with Northeast Los Angeles' (NELA) Second Saturday Gallery Night, is free and open to the public and will take place on Saturday, April 14th, from 7-10 pm. For a map: www.nelaart.org

See new works in the exhibit online: www.cactusgallery.blogspot.com

See a short doll video: http://youtu.be/zQ-cbcR8Asg

If you have a question regarding availability of work, please contact Sandra @ semastroianni70@yahoo.com or 323.256.6117.

Meet Christy Kane THIS Saturday

Long enchanted with the whimsical side of traditional fairy tales, artist and storyteller Christy Kane creates life size, one-of-a-kind, handmade dolls then photographs them in antique settings to illustrate her original stories. Her dolls have remarkably distinct personalities, her photographs are nuanced and richly detailed, and her stories are haunting and unforgettable. Her first book "Tales of the Sisters Kane" is now available.

With the help of the Chiodo Bros. (Killer Klowns from Outer Space, Vincent, Team America) she created a live puppetry version of her tale "Callalilly" which won runner up for Most Visually Innovative Short Film at the 2008 Baltimore Women's Film Festival. She is currently working on "Tales of the Sisters Kane Book II" and her next short film. With the help of her dolls, she runs a blog about their lives.

Kane lives in Pasadena, California. Her art dolls have shown in galleries all over the country. Christy and the Sisters Kane are featured in the latest Art Doll Quarterly, Spring 2012. For more on Christy Kane: www.christykane.com

Participating Doll Makers

Here is a partial list of some of this month's doll artists:
Sheri DeBow  www.sheridebow.com
Christine Benjamin  www.cbillustration.squarespace.com
Stefanie Vega  www.stefanievega.com
Christy Kane   www.christykane.com
Patricia Krebs  www.patriciakrebs.com.ar
Sarah Legault  www.sarahlegault.com
Lacey Bryant  www.laceybryant.com
Glenda Rolle  www.glendarolle.com
Jacqui Gallant  www.odddollz.blogspot.com
Cheryl Cambras www.cherylcambras.com/
Mavis Leahy  www.turkeyred.com/gallery/

Cactus Gallery
Facebook: www.facebook.com/pages/Cactus-Gallery/133157360068906
Facebook: www.facebook.com/cactus.gallery

If you don't already 'like' us on Facebook, or haven't added me, Sandra Mastroianni (CactusGallery), please go to the links above. Art news, sold works and new works are uploaded daily. Don't miss out!

Hours: Tuesday-Saturday 11a-6p
Sun. and Mon. by appointment only

Layaway available || Gift Certificates || Monthly Art Exhibits || Handcrafted Jewelry || Support small business

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »