.

Huizar Calls for Review of ‘Stakeholders’ in Neighborhood Council Elections

Councilman proposes that election authorities, assisted by the city attorney and with advice from neighborhood councils, examine, redefine and recommend who should vote in local elections.

Ten days after hundreds of people who don’t live, work, study or own a business in Eagle Rock voted in elections to its neighborhood council, Los Angeles City Councilman José Huizar proposed “a comprehensive review of the definition and process for qualifying” as a so-called community stakeholder.

In a motion introduced in the city council Tuesday, Huizar asked that the Department of Neighborhood Empowerment, with assistance from the city attorney and advice from neighborhood councils, be instructed to examine, redefine and recommend who stakeholders are.

Huizar proposed that the department’s review include “specific qualifications” for factual-basis stakeholders—those who are permitted to run as well as vote in neighborhood elections after demonstrating that they belong to a cultural group in the community, visit any of its libraries or have a vested interest in any of its businesses as consumers.

As many as 313 of the 792 votes cast in the Oct. 13 elections to the Eagle Rock Neighborhood Council were from those claiming to be factual-basis stakeholders, Huizar pointed out in his Oct. 23 motion, which will go before city council committees before being voted on.

These stakeholders, Huizar added, reportedly have “little or no relationship with the Eagle Rock community.” Their ability to vote in its elections, according to DONE’s Neighborhood Council 2012 election manual, was “clearly an attempt by outside interests to take control of the Eagle Rock Neighborhood Council and constitutes an abuse of the Neighborhood Council electoral process,” Huizar said.

Huizar proposed, further, that factual-basis stakeholders be limited to contesting or voting for no more than two seats on a neighborhood council.

• See the attached PDF for details about Huizar’s motion, which was seconded by Council member Bernard Parks.

The role of factual-basis stakeholders in Eagle Rock will be among the first items of business for the newly constituted Eagle Rock Neighborhood Council when it meets for the first time on Nov. 13, outgoing President Michael Larsen told Eagle Rock Patch, shortly after Huizar’s motion.

"I think the community as a whole is grateful to council member Huizar for taking a leadership role on this issue,” Larsen said. “Eagle Rock dodged a political bullet fired by a powerful union and its illicit partner, Big Marijuana, who saw a weakness in the system and took full advantage of it,” he added, referring to the campaign support that the United Food and Commercial Workers Union 770 lent to the Progress & Collaboration slate in the ERNC elections.

“We all should do what we can to make sure we are not put that position again,” Larsen said.

Larsen admitted to Eagle Rock Patch during the Oct. 13 vote that the ERNC could have changed its bylaws before the elections to reduce the influence of factual-basis stakeholders. But it didn’t do so because it never perceived a situation in which hundreds of such stakeholders would try to influence the election process, he said.

• See the attached PDF regarding a 2011 resolution by the Board of Neighborhood Commissioners, which gives neighborhood councils the option to change their bylaws regarding stakeholders.

bbkong November 01, 2012 at 07:11 PM
John, I admire your reasonable tack and again agree with you. " While I congratulate Mr. Huizar and the community activists who you say have eliminated loitering in Eagle Rock, I think you have also created a policy of exclusion and an unfriendly business climate in Eagle Rock that costs jobs, tax revenue, and increased economic activity in the neighborhood. " That would appear to be a real part of the local issue here. The witch hunt of a handful of prohibitionists goes too far in trying to change city wide rules that were put in place with good reason. Asset forfeiture is a national issue that should and will eventually be addressed on that level. It's been a major incentive in the War on Drugs and the awareness of that program's failure is spreading as history repeats itself with this particular prohibition.
Jerry Langford November 01, 2012 at 08:06 PM
John, I admire your reasonable tack, too! And rest assured that the "patients" are all right. The dispensary in my neighborhood that was closed by the Feds a couple weeks ago is back open, as evidenced by the nice young men who smoke their medicine on the sidewalk, and the snappily-dressed gentleman in a new BMW who buys patients' extra MMJ and sells it to teens in passing cars every school day. I am thrilled about the increased economic activity on my formerly residential block, and I'm sure my neighbors are, too. (The LAPD must approve of it, as well, because they don't come when my idiot prohibitionist neighbors call them.) You were right to belittle those so-called community activists' claims about "loitering": This new small business is just the kind of economic boost my quiet little street needs, bringing lively new stakeholders into town to see just how friendly Eagle Rock can be.
bbkong November 01, 2012 at 08:24 PM
I don't suppose you'd say where this is going on so I can come watch it myself. It shouldn't take long to spot it since it seems it's a non stop event. I'll bring the camera and call the cops myself. Deal?
bbkong November 01, 2012 at 08:38 PM
Uh huh. That's what I thought. You don't want to actually solve the problem, you just want to keep this feedback loop going. C'mon, tell where this is going on and I'll come bust it. I've got plenty of time and a nephew on the force who takes my calls. Or should I just assume you're blowing smoke again?
John November 01, 2012 at 10:32 PM
Jerry - If I come off as sarcastic, I apologize, that is not my intent. I genuinely want to know if closing the dispensaries had any effect on what is going on in your neighborhood. The dispensary by my house never closed,and never received a letter from the city. I heard about some that were closed that did not reopen. I don't understand what the criteria was for closing some dispensaries and not others, or if the repeal of the ban made them all legal. As far as street dealing and public use goes, maybe the hillsde or the freeway or the kids that play in the street by my house keep the loiterers away, but I am within a few blocks of several dispensaries and I have never seen anything like you describe. If you say you see people smoking pot on the street, dealing to kids, I believe you. I don't see how closing dispensaries will have any effect but to increase that kind of activity. I still think the dispensaries would like to know where it is occurring and if their customers are involved so they can ban the perpetrators. If there were no limit to the number of dispensaries, that would spread out the traffic. Second hand smoke rules apply to medical marijuana and I believe marijuana should be regulated like tobacco, which is sold alongside alcohol in 7500 stores in the city of Los Angeles.
bbkong November 02, 2012 at 12:02 AM
John, I appreciate your sincerity here but this is just a rehash of the same smoke screen we went through a few weeks ago. They love to claim victim-hood but reject any kind of solution to the "problem" except for outright shutting down the shops. He specifically mentioned someone in a BMW who appeared to be selling to kids but couldn't be bothered to write down a tag number. We have law enforcement that would happily make sure this crime stopped, and if I saw it myself I wouldn't hesitate to snap a picture with my phone and hand carry it to the NE precinct and follow up on it to an acceptable conclusion. As you can see, he won't even respond with the name of an intersection where this is happening so someone with some sack can do something about it. It's all smoke screen and part of the campaign to discredit the dispensaries.
Mr. jepg November 02, 2012 at 12:10 AM
Jerry - this guy is pulling your close off and making you look like a fool. If I were you I would answer firmly with the location and photos. To be honest I am alarmed and concerned that a part of my community looks like a scene out of "new jack city". we need to act now.
Jerry Langford November 02, 2012 at 12:54 AM
Eek! The emperor has no close! Mr. jepg - My neighborhood doesn't look like Mr. Peebles' New Jack City. It looks like a crummy little street where nobody gives a damn, and it saddens me. John: I genuinely appreciate your pragmatic tone, and I wish the right-wing, my-way-or-the-highway big-pot mouthpieces like bbkong would follow your lead. Bbkong/Joe - we've discussed this before. When my neighbors call about the smoking and dealing near our local dispensary (which is within 1000 feet of a school) the LAPD tells us to call the non-emergency number. Ever called it? The term "Kafkaesque" doesn't do justice to the experience. And you've chastised us before for not manning up and just going up to the dealers and telling them to get the hell off our lawns. But not all of us are big, iron-balled vets like yourself, and believe it or not, we care about our personal safety. (We have these things called "children"; you should check them out sometime.) That's also why I'm not going to put my address here on Patch, or tell you which dispensary it is (though a little internet sleuthing will get you close -- Joe is the avowed Master of the Intertubes, so he should come up with it post-haste). I don't know who else reads Patch, and unlike the Duff Grandes, I don't believe that all dispensary owners, and their apologists, are saints who just want to help the sick.
bbkong November 02, 2012 at 01:13 AM
I don't care what your address is Jerry. Just give me the name of the intersection where this is happening. Oh, I said that already. I can't help you if you won't help yourself.
Mr. jepg November 02, 2012 at 01:16 AM
I don't want your street to sadden you any more. So here is an idea, you could easily give 3 stress in a row and a two cross streets. then I will show up with Mr. T and a few guardian angles (you know the dudes with the red hats) to straighten things out directly. we will ride around on bikes and clear out the "snappily-dressed gentleman in a new BMW". heck we will even sweep up all the litter - no joke. just point us in the general area. I bet i can even get the collectives in that area to help because it is the right thing to do - for the community and their business. it is called a win - win. that is unless - you cried wolf...?
bbkong November 02, 2012 at 01:35 AM
See? All smoke screen. FEAR! BE AFRAID!! WILD DOGS RUNNING IN THE STREETS!! THINK OF THE CHILDREN!! THEY'LL COME AND GET US!! Pretty pathetic. Very transparent. It occurs to me that if the people of Coffeyville, Kansas dealt with their problem in the same way the James Gang would be a multinational corporation by now.
EagleRockMom November 02, 2012 at 03:05 AM
@Joe Schomguin Not so fast, Speedy. I am willing to take you up on your offer to clean up the stress of Eagle Rock. Sadly, this means you will need to leave your cozy armchair to actually do something other than run your mouth. I posted the details above. Go get'em, Hot Shot.
bbkong November 02, 2012 at 03:15 AM
Actionable information for a change. Consider it passed along. Oh, and my nephew is a body builder. He's not quite the taco/donut guy.
bbkong November 02, 2012 at 03:17 AM
I presume if I take care of this problem you'll learn how to spell my name correctly, right?
Mr. jepg November 02, 2012 at 05:02 AM
Lol that is a good one. You are leaving out a lot of sociopolitical back story. But you are cute.
EagleRockMom November 02, 2012 at 12:06 PM
@Joe Get rid of the street dealers and I will learn how to correctly spell your last name. But you must provide evidence that you were involved in their removal. Photos, police reports, etc. Thanks! I look forward to seeing you personally resolving this issue.
bbkong November 02, 2012 at 02:55 PM
Oh yeah, just watch out the window for Rambo. He'll be there any minute now. Just like CSI, this will be wrapped up in an hour. Back in reality world, I passed that info on to my nephew and got an immediate response. He'd like to know why you think those cars came from Glendale. You'll get a couple drive bys over the next few days around those hours, but be aware that there's usually only 2 units in Eagle Rock on that shift and they're usually pretty busy. I have more info on drug dealing up on Hill but since some horse's patoot decided it would be clever to expose my real name in here I won't divulge it publicly. It has nothing to do with the dispensaries. Email me if you want to know more.
Mr. jepg November 02, 2012 at 05:58 PM
LOL - I was thinking the same thing how does she know they are from Glendale? I happened to pass through that area twice last night between those hours. Didn't see any cars fitting the descriptions. nor did i see anything that looked remotely suspicious. not a single "glendaler" in sight. basically a very clean and appealing upper middle class area. I kept thinking man this lady complains about litter all the time but I don't see a single piece of trash and its the night after halloween. if there was ever going to be a influx of litter up here it would be tonight. so my guess is the litter is in her head just like the rest of it. That said BBkong I would love to hear what you heard.
Mr. jepg November 02, 2012 at 07:44 PM
@ERM - I looked up the license plate you gave and it doesn't exist. check the link below. Are you making this stuff up? http://search.dmv.org/dmv/california/6tsn230
bbkong November 02, 2012 at 09:15 PM
It's less about what I heard than what I know. Local history, who the real drug dealers are, where the crack house is this week and which motel has the cocaine. It takes a lot of leg work and boots on the ground to catch the actual bad guys and the LAPD is chronically short staffed. That's why this whole dispensary jihad is a dog and pony show, shooting ducks in a barrel for the rubes who suck it up and think they're making a big dent in crime.
EagleRockMom November 02, 2012 at 10:53 PM
@jpeg Because if I gave an actual description of the perps I would be accused of racism. So I kept it general. You can doubt the authenticity of the plate number if you work for the DMV or LAPD and have the authority to run them officially, otherwise step off. You know you didn't do squat but type this from your armchair. And for the record, I have been complaining about LOITERING not littering. Fresh.
bbkong November 02, 2012 at 11:12 PM
ERMa, The plates have been run by now. I don't think there's anything racist about saying they are black guys or whatever, it is what it is. I'm not aware of a large black population in Glendale but then it's not my turf. I still wonder why you think they're from Glendale. I don't know his schedule (besides nights) but it's on his cruise list now.
Mr. jepg November 02, 2012 at 11:41 PM
LOL - bbkong I think she is referring to another ethnic group... @ERM - guess i was referring to your rant below. oMaybe you misspell loitering as littering there? the scene you describe below is very far from what i saw last night or any other night as I dive on Hill. EagleRockMom 10:39 am on Tuesday, August 7, 2012 @Nelson Grande Residents of Eagle Rock and other communities have been posting about the effects MMDs have had on their neighborhoods. Are these genuine concerns to be disregarded because they don't appear in a news article or have a team of researchers investigating them? Perhaps you have not experienced the anger or frustration of having to constantly shoo stoners away, or having medicinal marijuana packaging littering the curb in front of your home, but some of us have on a daily basis. I personally have noticed an upticj in the amount of public partying, neighbors on College View, north of Colorado got it the worst with the dispensery at the bottom of their street. Noise, trash, and public partying was awful when the AEC was in business. So instead of asking for stats or documents, ask a resident about their experiences and then you will know that the quality of life has been adversely affected for many of us Eagle Rockers.
Mr. jepg November 02, 2012 at 11:44 PM
Oh and in addition to me running it on the DMV site; I had a friend in law enforcement run the plate. the plate simply doesn't exist. it has never been issued.
bbkong November 03, 2012 at 01:06 AM
Another point to consider is that the very thing that attracts people to live on those streets is the same reason other people would tend to loiter. My little dead end has 1 street light (count 'em, 1) and I pick up at least a dozen used condoms and countless beer cans every summer. It's part of living in a city. We also have people who come and park in the shade when it's hot. Can't blame them, they have a right to do it, but I do step outside, poke around the yard and make a point of letting them know they're in a watchful neighborhood.
bbkong November 03, 2012 at 02:45 AM
Just got a text, the Tahoe is registered in Beverly Hills. You'll see a black and white a couple times tonight. Anything on the sedan would be very helpful.
EagleRockMom November 03, 2012 at 03:38 AM
Yeah right.
EagleRockMom November 03, 2012 at 03:53 AM
@jpeg Dmv.org isn't sanctioned by any government agency. A disclaimer runs across the top of the page in bold letters in case you didn't know. Stop trying to discredit what I am ssaying with one of the phony reference sites you frequent. No wonder your talking points never hold any water.
bbkong November 03, 2012 at 06:44 PM
Got a visit last night and learned a little more. That vehicle is owned by a person of interest in a larger investigation on the west side that has to do with illicit pharmaceuticals and Ecstasy and they're really interested in that other vehicle. He wouldn't tell me much more because well, that would be illegal too. If you could by chance come up with a plate on the sedan it would be much appreciated.
Dylan Hart November 07, 2012 at 06:43 PM
JOHN, thank you for being a rational voice for the marijuana community on this forum. Please keep it up!

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »